Speaker Profile: Ed

12265664_1007216389331328_8969274472794229942_o

Name: Edward Hardy
Course (and Year): Third Year – BA (Hons) Politics
Presentation Topic: Leeds Student Radio

Tell us a little bit more about your presentation.
My presentation would look at what I’ve done as a member of Leeds Student Radio (LSR), ranging from when I began as a panellist on the Station’s weekly flagship political show, Political Animal, to my current role as the creator, producer and host of my own current affairs programme. I would also discuss my work on one-off events, such as the Station’s General Election coverage, the interviews that I’ve conducted with individuals, ranging from Ed Miliband and William Hague to Jacob Rees-Mogg and Paddy Ashdown, and events I’ve covered, such as the BBC Question Time Leaders’ Live Special. I could also discuss the opportunities that my LSR work has enabled me to create, including internships with The Times, Sunday Times and The Independent.

Why did you choose to take part in this project / take on this role?
Two of my passions are journalism and politics and I have been very fortunate over the last two years to pursue these interests, joining Leeds Student Radio, while studying politics at university, including creating, producing and presenting my own weekly radio programme, working for some of the UK’s leading newspapers and appearing on television.

What has been the best part of your student engagement experience so far?
During my time at Leeds Student Radio, I have arranged and conducted interviews with many of the UK’s foremost politicians, including Jeremy Corbyn, Ed Miliband, William Hague and Tim Farron, as well as YouTubers and authors, including Marcus Butler, Connor Franta, Joey Graceffa and Joe Sugg. The best part of my experience so far came as I took on the role of the Station’s Political Correspondent, when I was given the opportunity to present live broadcasts throughout the night as the 2015 General Election results were being announced, as well as covering other key events.

What would you say is the most important thing you have learned?
During my time at Leeds Student Radio, I have been able to gain experience and skills within journalism, learning everything from how to produce a rundown for a broadcast, write an article, produce a programme, present a show, conduct interviews, cover events and edit both audio and visual broadcasts.

How have co-/extra-curricular opportunities enriched and broadened your degree?
Leeds Student Radio has given me the opportunity to learn new skills and gain experience within the field of journalism, allowing me to explore potential careers and realise what I want to do once I have graduated.

How has getting involved in co-/extra-curricular activities at university helped you with future career goals?
Getting involved in student radio has not only, as previously mentioned, provided me with invaluable experience, it has also opened a number of doors for me in the world of journalism, helping me to secure internships at The Times, The Sunday Times and The Independent.

Why is the University of Leeds such a good choice for student engagement?
The University of Leeds has some of the best student media in the country, including an award winning student radio station, newspaper and television station. While I have focused primarily on broadcast journalism, the close relationship that the three groups have has provided me with a wider insight into different forms of media. Furthermore, beyond student media, the University of Leeds has a fantastic network of clubs and societies which gives students the ability to participate in a number of different activities, beyond their degrees.

Why should every student get engaged at Leeds?
Students should get engaged at Leeds because, with such an expansive and diverse range of clubs and societies, there is truly something for everyone and, by joining a society, you can not only make great friends, but also find your calling, something you deeply enjoy and are passionate about.

Leave a Reply

